Home > Knowledge > Content
What are the types of inverters?
- Aug 06, 2018 -

The process of converting the AC power into DC power by the inverter is called rectification, and the circuit that completes the rectification function is called a rectification circuit, and the device that implements the rectification process is called a rectification device or a rectifier. Correspondingly, the process of converting DC power into AC power is called inverter, and the circuit that completes the inverter function is called an inverter circuit, and the device that implements the inverter process is called an inverter device or an inverter.


Classification of inverters

1. According to the frequency of the inverter output AC power

Can be divided into power frequency inverter, intermediate frequency inverter and high frequency inverter. The frequency of the power frequency inverter is 50-60 Hz; the frequency of the intermediate frequency inverter is generally 400 Hz to more than ten kHz; the frequency of the high frequency inverter is generally more than ten kHz to MHz.

2. According to the number of phases of the inverter output

Can be divided into single-phase inverters, three-phase inverters and multi-phase inverters.

3. According to the direction of the output of the inverter

Can be divided into active inverters and passive inverters. The inverter that transmits the electric energy output from the inverter to the industrial power grid is called an active inverter; the inverter that outputs the power output from the inverter to a certain electric load is called a passive inverter. Device.

4. According to the form of the main circuit of the inverter

Can be divided into single-ended inverters, push-pull inverters, half-bridge inverters and full-bridge inverters.

5. According to the type of inverter main switch device

Can be divided into thyristor inverters, transistor inverters, field effect inverters and insulated gate bipolar transistor (IGBT) inverters. It can be classified into two categories: "half-controlled" inverter and "full control" inverter. The former does not have the self-shutdown capability, and the components lose control after being turned on. Therefore, the “half-controlled” common thyristor belongs to this category; the latter has self-shutdown capability, ie, no device. The turn-on and turn-off can be controlled by the control electrode, so it is called "full control type", and the power field effect transistor and the insulated gate dual-weight transistor (IGBT) belong to this category.

6. According to DC power supply

It can be divided into voltage source inverter (VSI) and current source inverter (CSI). In the former, the DC voltage is nearly constant, and the output voltage is an alternating square wave; the latter, the DC current is nearly constant, and the input current is an alternating square wave.

7. According to the waveform of the inverter output voltage or current

Can be divided into sine wave output inverter and non-sine wave output inverter.

8. According to the inverter control method

It can be divided into a frequency modulation (PFM) inverter and a pulse width modulation (PWM) inverter.

9. According to the working mode of the inverter switch circuit

Can be divided into resonant inverters, fixed-frequency hard-switching inverters and fixed-frequency soft-switching inverters.

10. According to the inverter commutation method

Can be divided into load commutated inverters and self-commutated inverters.